About the Internet Economy Foundation

Foundation Council

Ralph Dommermuth

Chairman of the Foundation Board

... founded the company 1&1 in 1988 and guided it through its initial public offering and introduction into the stock market in 1998. By that time it had become the first internet company to be introduced on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange. In 2000 1&1 was rebranded to United Internet AG, now comprised of brands such as GMX, WEB.DE, Versatel, Fasthosts, arsys, home.pl, InternetX, United Domains, affilinet und Sedo. Furthermore, United Internet AG is the main shareholder of Drillisch and Tele Columbus.

Robert Gentz

Member

... is co-founder and board member at Zalando SE and represents Zalando online, one of the biggest e-commerce platforms in Europe. The Berlin-based company Zalando SE was successfully introduced into the stock market in 2015.

Kolja Hebenstreit

Member

… is an Internet entrepreneur and investor. He currently sits on the supervisory board at Delivery Hero and is an advisor at Point Nine Capital –both companies that he co-founded. He started his first business at the age of 18 and since then has been involved in companies like brands4friends, StudiVZ, Gründerszene and Fyber.

Dr. Klaus Hommels

Member

... is founder and Managing Partner of Lakestar and one of Europe’s leading business angels with investments in some of the largest European and worldwide internet companies such as Skype, Facebook, king.com, Xing, airbnb and Spotify. Klaus started his career at Bertelsmann and later held various leading positions at AOL and Benchmark Capital.

René Obermann

Member

... from 2006 until 2013 he was the CEO of Deutsche Telekom. Today he holds positions as Partner and Managing Director at the private equity company Warburg Pincus. His areas of responsibility include technology, media, and telecommunication. He is also a board member of ThyssenKrupp AG, E.ON SE and until recently the music streaming service Spotify SA.

Oliver Samwer

Member

... founder and CEO at the listed company Rocket Internet SE. The start-up-factory was founded in 2007 and builds and invests in international and highly scalable internet companies. Rocket Internet employs more than 36.000 people worldwide in 110 countries.

Management & Team

Prof. Dr. Friedbert Pflüger

IE.F Chairman

… is Chairman of the Internet Economy Foundation. He has worked in leading positions in politics, administration, the private sector and academia for over three decades. He is founder and CEO of Pflüger International GmbH in Berlin and senior advisor at Roland Berger. In 2009 he became Honorary Professor for International Relations at Kings College London, where he leads the European Centre for Energy and Resource Security (EUCERS).

Clark Parsons

IE.F Managing Director

… heads the Internet Economy Foundation as Managing Director. Formerly working as a journalist, business consultant and country manager at an international IT-sales network, the American has lived in Berlin since 1998. He co-founded VoIP telephony company Vortel GmbH and was long-standing Managing Director at the Berlin School of Creative Leadership.

Amelie Drünkler

Public Policy & Operations Manager

… supports the Internet Economy Foundation with its strategic and organizational activities. Amelie studied Economics at the University of Bayreuth and Bocconi University Milan and graduated with an MSc in Social Policy from the London School of Economics and Political Science. She has worked in various positions, among others, at the German Federal Ministry of Health, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation in Singapore and as a consultant for Pflüger International in Berlin.

Felix Styma

Senior Advisor

…has supported the Internet Economy Foundation from its very beginning - initially as Public Policy & Operations Manager and as Advisor with respect to strategic questions today. Felix also serves as a Consultant at Pflüger International and as Managing Partner at iconomy.

Über die Internet Economy Foundation

Stiftungsrat

Ralph Dommermuth

Vorsitzender

…gründete 1988 1&1 und führte das Unternehmen zehn Jahre später als erste Internet-Company an die Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse. 2000 erfolgte die Umbenennung der Unternehmensgruppe zur United Internet AG. Zu ihr zählen neben 1&1 Marken wie GMX, WEB.DE, Versatel, Fasthosts, arsys, home.pl, InternetX, United Domains, affilinet und Sedo. Außerdem ist United Internet größter Aktionär von Drillisch und Tele Columbus.

Robert Gentz

Mitglied

...ist Mitgründer und Vorstandsmitglied der Zalando SE und repräsentiert „Zalando als Online-Unternehmen“, eine der größten e-Commerce Plattformen Europas. Das Berliner Unternehmen ging 2015 erfolgreich an die Börse.

Kolja Hebenstreit

Mitglied

...ist Berliner Internet-Unternehmer und Investor. Derzeit ist er Aufsichtsratsmitglied bei Delivery Hero und Advisor bei Point Nine Capital – beide Unternehmen hat er mitgegründet. Seine erste Firma startete er im Alter von 18 Jahren. In der Folge war bei Firmen wie brands4friends, Spreadshirt, StudiVZ, Gründerszene und Fyber involviert.

Dr. Klaus Hommels

Mitglied

...ist Gründer und CEO von Lakestar und einer der führenden europäischen Business-Angels, mit Investitionen in einigen der erfolgreichsten Internetfirmen wie Skype, Facebook, king.com, Xing, airbnb und Spotify. Seine Karriere begann Klaus Hommels bei Bertelsmann, später durchlief er verschiedene Positionen bei AOL Germany und Benchmark Capital.

René Obermann

Mitglied

...war von 2006 bis 2013 CEO der Deutschen Telekom und ist heute Partner und Managing Director bei der Private Equity Firma Warburg Pincus. Dort ist er zuständig für die Bereiche Technologie, Medien und Telekommunikation. Außerdem ist er Mitglied der Aufsichtsräte von Thyssen Krupp, E.ON und dem Musikstreaming-Dienst Spotify.

Oliver Samwer

Mitglied

...ist Gründer und CEO der börsennotierten Rocket Internet SE. Die 2007 gegründete Berliner Start-Up-Fabrik baut und investiert in international skalierbare Internet-Unternehmen und ist mit ihrem Unternehmensnetzwerk mittlerweile mit mehr als 36.000 Mitarbeitern in über 110 Länder aktiv.

Vorstand & Team

Prof. Dr. Friedbert Pflüger

Vorsitzender IE.F

...ist Vorsitzender der Internet Economy Foundation. Pflüger arbeitet seit über drei Jahrzehnten in Führungspositionen in Politik, Administration, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Er ist u.a. Inhaber und Geschäftsführer von Pflüger International GmbH in Berlin und Senior Advisor von Roland Berger. Seit 2009 ist Pflüger Honorarprofessor für Internationale Beziehungen am King‘s College London und leitet dort das European Centre for Energy and Resource Security (EUCERS).

Clark Parsons

Geschäftsführer IE.F

...leitet die Internet Economy Foundation als Geschäftsführer seit Anfang 2016. Der US-Amerikaner lebt seit 1998 in Berlin und war zuvor als Journalist, Unternehmensberater und Country Manager eines internationalen IT Sales Netzwerks tätig. Außerdem war er Mitgründer der Vortel GmbH und langjähriger Geschäftsführer der Berlin School of Creative Leadership.

Felix Styma

Public Policy & Operations Manager

...begleitet die Internet Economy Foundation von Beginn an unterstützt sie bei der inhaltlichen und organisatorischen Ausrichtung. Felix studierte European Studies an der Universität Maastricht und der SciencesPo in Lille sowie Public Policy und Management an der Universität Potsdam. Danach war er in verschiedenen Positionen u.a. beim Internationalen Olympischen Komitee, einer entwicklungspolitischen NGO und als Consultant bei Pflüger International tätig.