Vision

The Internet Economy Foundation (IE.F) was established as an inquisitive think tank, an independent advisor and a competent dialogue partner in the dynamic environment of digitisation and digital transformation. It aims to be an impartial organisation and a pioneering voice for politics, the economy and society. It provides information about the latest developments and defines the interests of the German and European Internet economy in a global context.

"Europe can only work as a political entity if each country within Europe does not take actions that harm other countries."
Professor Joseph Stiglitz
Former Chief Economist of the World Bank and Nobel laureate

Our Core Subjects and Views

Finance

50 billion to boost growth and to catch up with world’s digital leaders. The German venture capital scene is developing steadily, but slowly. Therefore, German and European start-ups need better financial instruments to obtain growth capital to close the gap on front-running nations. After all, it was mainly due to government contracts and investments that Silicon Valley became to be the world’s centre of digital innovation and continues to maintain this role. In Germany, a stimulus of 50 billion euros is needed – borne by public/private partnership.

Infrastructure

The future needs gigabit networks. High speed Internet access is the key to the networked economies of tomorrow. Germany and Europe cannot afford to settle for under-ambitious compromises with regards to its official broadband targets; they have to make a bold transition towards becoming gigabit societies. Priority has to be given to the roll out of fibre-optic infrastructure through installing ‘Fiber to the Home’ (FTTH), as well as high performance 5G mobile networks. Only gigabit networks provide the necessary future-proof capacities to guarantee high-speed applications at lowest latencies in areas such as Industry 4.0, eHealth, home entertainment and the Internet of Things.

Competition

An end to data monopolies. To date not a single one of the world’s 20 biggest digital companies was founded in Europe. Especially those among them who act as platform operators now hold key positions in global digital ecosystems. They customise, curate and filter individual user experiences of the Internet as a whole, or certain sections of it. Currently fragmented markets and a relatively ineffective European competition law prevent the emergence of a European counterweight to leading American and Asian platform operators. To ensure fair competition, the powers of monopolies must be constrained, and market-dominating platforms such as operating systems should be appropriately regulated to ensure neutrality. This can be achieved through transparency and the equal treatment of different services. Especially in the online world and across digital markets, users must be guaranteed a freedom of choice.

Data Protection

More data sovereignty for Europe's citizens. Responsible and empowered consumers should be able to decide for themselves how their personal data is used. This fundamental right must be protected. We are committed to advocating for appropriate and timely regulation that guarantees sovereignty over personal data, without constraining the innovative capacity of the digital economy. This requires careful differentiation between the innovative potential of pseudonymised data and data which can be traced back to an individual. The use and the importance of anonymised and pseudonymised data is set to increase and will necessarily play an ever more important role, especially in the areas of health and traffic control. The high level of data protection in Europe must be preserved in order to guarantee sovereignty over personal data. Moreover, services and business models which adhere to strict EU standards are likely to gain a competitive advantage.

Political Governance

Clearly allocated competencies must replace current departmental paralyses. Digital transformations appear to resemble largely uncontrolled processes across many member states of the EU. Without a clear grouping and allocating of competencies, digital strategies and agendas are likely to remain nothing more than empty promises. Especially in Germany, a large number of political departments fight turf wars over varying competencies, making coherent national digital governance largely ineffective. Therefore, overcoming political parochialism must become the guiding principle of digital governance. As one of the greatest socio-political challenges of our time, a successful digital transformation requires leadership from one hand. Germany should bundle its competences in digital governance in one department by setting up a ministry for digital transformation.

Digital Literacy

As important as reading and writing. Computer languages have become the lingua franca of our time. Personal and corporate digital skill-sets are essential to safeguarding our prosperity. Nine out of ten jobs in the future will require a minimum level of digital literacy. In order to safeguard its claim as a leader in research and innovation, Germany will have to transition its leadership through expanding its digital competencies. It has already proven to do so successfully in the automobile industry and the mechanical engineering sector through public-private excellence clusters. Besides the need to digitally empower employees, there is also the need to digitally empower consumers and citizens. Therefore, computer sciences and digital media have to be more strongly integrated throughout all educational offerings.

Business Culture

Think big, act fast, be bold. In the face of challenging digital transformations, Germany and Europe requires a new attitude towards entrepreneurship and risk taking. Germany needs to meet the challenges posed by the digitisation of industries with more bravery, self-confidence and less despondency. Through embracing a new business culture of confidence and experimentation, Germany is better placed to defend its positions as a market leader in many industry sectors. Hesitancy, however, holds the danger to lose a position of leadership to an international competitor. Especially due to its high level and recognised potential to innovate, Germany is well placed to successfully transition into and maintain a spot in the group of leading global digital nations.

Vision

Die Internet Economy Foundation wurde mit dem Ziel gegründet, in der dynamischen Welt des Internets eine neugierige Denkfabrik, ein unabhängiger Ratgeber und kompetenter Dialogpartner zu sein. Sie will eine wegweisende Stimme für Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft werden, die Informationen über neueste Entwicklungen liefert und die Interessen der deutschen und europäischen Internetwirtschaft im globalen Kontext identifiziert.

„Wettbewerb muss fair bleiben – egal ob in digitalen oder in klassischen Märkten.“
Margrethe Vestager
EU-Kommissarin für Wettbewerb

Unsere Kernthemen und Standpunkte

Finanzierung

Mit 50 Milliarden Wachstumsförderung an die Weltspitze! Die Venture-Capital-Landschaft ist in Deutschland unzureichend entwickelt. Jungen deutschen Unternehmen auf dem Weg in den Weltmarkt fehlt es heute an Finanzierungsinstrumenten, vor allem in der Wachstumsphase. Das Silicon Valley ist nicht zuletzt durch staatliche Investitionen entstanden und erhält von dort nach wie vor substantielle Aufträge. Eine Förderung von 50 Milliarden Euro sind für ein weitreichendes Finanzierungsprogramm nötig – von Privatwirtschaft und Staat gemeinsam getragen.

Infrastruktur

Zukunft braucht Gigabit-Netze! Schnelles Internet ist die Basis der vernetzten Ökonomien von morgen. Deutschland darf sich nicht mit unterambitionierten Breitbandzielen zufriedengeben, sondern muss jetzt den Sprung in die Gigabitgesellschaft schaffen. Priorität hat dabei der Ausbau von Glasfaserinfrastruktur durch „Fiber to the Home“ (FTTH) und darauf aufbauend leistungsstarke 5G Mobilfunknetze. Nur zukunftssichere Gigabit-Netze bieten genügend Leistungsreserven, um Highspeed-Anwendungen der Zukunft (wie Industrie 4.0, eHealth, Home Entertainment und das Internet der Dinge) bei niedrigsten Latenzzeiten zu gewährleisten.

Wettbewerb

Schluss mit Datenmonopolen! Bisher stammt nicht eine der 20 weltweit größten Internetfirmen aus Europa. Besonders Plattformbetreiber haben in digitalen Ökosystemen eine Schlüsselstellung inne. Sie personalisieren, kontrollieren und filtern die individuelle Nutzung des Internets, oder eines Teilbereichs. Fragmentierte Märkte und ein relativ wirkungsloses europäisches Kartellrecht verhindern, dass sich ein europäisches Gegengewicht zu den USA und Asien sowie den großen Plattform-Anbietern bilden kann. Wer fairen Wettbewerb schaffen will, muss den Missbrauch von Monopolen verhindern und marktbeherrschende Plattformen angemessen regulieren. Auch in digitalen Märkten brauchen Kunden echte Wahlfreiheit.

Datenschutz

Mehr Souveränität für Europas Bürger! Mündige Konsumenten sollten über die Nutzung ihrer persönlichen Daten selbst entscheiden können. Dies ist ein Grundrecht. Wir setzen uns für zeitgemäße Gesetze und Regelungen ein, um Daten- Souveränität zu sichern, ohne dabei die Wirtschaft und Innovationskraft einzuschränken. Dies bedeutet auch, dass zwischen pseudonymisierten Daten und den Daten, die einer einzelnen Person zurechenbar sind, differenziert werden muss. Der Nutzung etwa von anonymisierten Daten kommt eine wachsende Bedeutung zu – etwa im Gesundheits- und im Verkehrsbereich. Insgesamt gilt es das gute Datenschutzniveau in Europa zu erhalten. Angebote und Geschäftsmodelle, welche die strengen EU-Standards erfüllen, können dabei sogar zum Wettbewerbsvorteil werden.

Politische Steuerung

Klare Verantwortung statt Kompetenzgewirr! In weiten Teilen Europas wirkt die digitale Transformation wie ein ungesteuerter Prozess. Ohne Bündelung der Kräfte bleiben digitale Strategien und Agenden jedoch bloß Versprechen. Auch in Deutschland führt ein regelrechtes Kompetenzgerangel zwischen den politischen Ressorts zu einer dysfunktionalen politischen Steuerung der Digital Governance. Die Überwindung der digitalen Kleinstaaterei ist daher das Gebot der Stunde. Als eine der großen gesellschaftspolitischen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart benötigen erfolgreiche digitale Transformationen die Führung und Steuerung aus einer Hand. Deutschland sollte seine digitalen Kompetenzen daher in einem Fachresort – einem eigenen Digitalministerium – bündeln.

Digitalkompetenz

Als Kulturtechnik so wichtig wie Lesen und Schreiben! Computersprachen werden zur lingua franca unserer Zeit. Digitale Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen bei Unternehmen und Mitarbeitern sind für die Sicherung unseres Wohlstands unverzichtbar. Neun von zehn Arbeitsplätzen werden in Zukunft ein Mindestmaß an Digitalkompetenz erfordern. Deutschland muss seine Stellung als Forschungsstandort ins digitale Zeitalter transferieren. Dies gelingt, wie es Automobilindustrie und Maschinenbau vorgemacht haben: mit öffentlich-privaten Exzellenzclustern für die Digitalwirtschaft. Neben kompetenten Mitarbeitern, bedarf es aber auch mündiger Konsumenten. Informatik und digitale Medien müssen stärker in Bildungsangebote integriert- und der Umgang mit den neuen Medien bereits in der Schule gelernt werden.

Businesskultur

Groß denken, schnell und mutig handeln! Im digitalen Zeitalter brauchen wir eine neue Einstellung zu Risiko und Unternehmertum. Sollen wir die Herausforderungen der digitalen Transformationen meistern, brauchen wir mehr Mut und Selbstbewusstsein sowie weniger Verzagtheit, sprich: eine neue Businesskultur. Nur mit einer Businesskultur des Experimentierens und des Ausprobierens kann verhindert werden, dass aufgrund deutscher Zögerlichkeit, selbst marktführende Positionen an US-Konkurrenten verloren gehen. Dabei ist Deutschland besonders durch seine anerkannt hohe Innovationsleistung in der Lage, den Sprung in die digitale Zukunft und die Spitzengruppe der globalen Digitalnationen zu schaffen.